Griffin Poetry Prize Winners

C. D. Wright’s Rising, Falling, Hovering and A. F. Moritz’s The Sentinel are the International and Canadian winners of the ninth annual Griffin Poetry Prize.

The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in 2000 to serve and encourage excellence in poetry. The prize is for first edition books of poetry written in, or translated into, English, and submitted from anywhere in the world.

Judges for the 2009 Griffin Poetry Prize are the distinguished writers and poets Saskia Hamilton (United States), Dennis O’Driscoll (Ireland) and Canada’s Michael Redhill. They read 485 books of poetry, including 33 translations, received from 32 countries around the globe. The judges are selected on an annual basis by the Griffin Poetry Prize Trustees.

The 2009 Griffin Poetry Prize shortlist features collections by three Canadian poets – Kevin Connolly’s Revolver, published by House of Anansi Press; Crabwise to the Hounds by Jeramy Dodds, published by Coach House Books and The Sentinel by A. F. Moritz, published by House of Anansi Press; and four international poets – the late Mick Imlah’s The Lost Leader, published by Faber and Faber (a selection of which was read by acclaimed Argentinian/Canadian playwright and actor Guillermo Verdecchia); Derek Mahon’s Life on Earth, published by Gallery Press; C. D. Wright’s Rising, Falling, Hovering, published by Copper Canyon Press and Dean Young’s Primitive Mentor published by University of Pittsburgh Press (a selection of which was read by famed Canadian actor R. H. Thomson).

In September, The Griffin Trust will take the two winners of the 2009 prize to Reykjavik, Iceland to read at the International Literary Festival. They will be accompanied by several poets, shortlisted in previous years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *